Sign In

Our sustainability strategy is driven by Qatar National Vision 2030 and the United Nation's Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which are essential references to frame our sustainability actions and set them in a global context. We are also fully supportive of the Paris Agreement's goal to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius. Climate change is one of the most critical issues of our times​ and requires prompt and dedicated action at a global scale.

Our strategy embraces the transition towards a low carbon industrial landscape and is intended to be flexible and resilient to change. Therefore, we have developed our 4C framework of:​


 


  1. ​​Consolidate our leading position in supplying LNG across the globe by increasing our production to 126 million tons per annum (MTPA) by 2027, thereby displacing high GHG emitting energy sources such as oil and coal
  2. Curb emissions from our operations through flare reduction, methane emissions reduction, and energy efficiency
  3. Create low carbon energy by growing renewable energy capacity, i.e. solar projects, by 2–4 gigawatts (GW) by 2030
  4. Compensate for residual emissions through wide deployment of carbon capture and sequestration technology at our facilities (7 to 9 MTPA by 2030).

 

Our Climate Ambitions 

Our sustainability journey started over a decade ago, including several initiatives: GHG emissions accounting and verification, flare reduction, methane emissions reduction, and energy efficiency. We have firm commitments towards carbon sequestration as well.

As we continue in our journey of excellence, we remain committed to bringing about further prosperity and shared value for all our stakeholders who were, and will always be, an integral part of our success.


Our Targets 

Our climate roadmap sets out new short, mid-and long-term ambitions to reduce GHG emissions and shape our portfolio to be more sustainable. 

The 4C climate framework will lead to a net carbon intensity reduction of 15% from upstream and about 25% from the LNG facilities by 2030, including direct and indirect emissions. Our ambitions of 0.2 wt.% methane intensity target by 2025 and zero routine flaring by 2030 will be achieved as well. By 2030, our portfolio will be over 90% gas-based, and we plan to add two to four GW of renewables.

تسجيل الدخول

​​
تنبع استراتيجيتنا للاستدامة من رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 وأهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة، اللذان يشكلان مرجعين أساسيين لصياغة إجراءاتنا للاستدامة ووضعها في سياق عالمي. كما أننا ندعم بالكامل هدف اتفاقية باريس للحد من ظاهرة الاحترار العالمي بمقدار درجتين مئويتين، فتغيّر المناخ هو أحد أهم قضايا عصرنا ويتطلب اتخاذ إجراءات خاصة وعاجلة على نطاق عالمي.

وتتبنى استراتيجيتنا عملية التحول نحو بيئة صناعية منخفضة الانبعاثات الكربونية على نحو يتسم بالمرونة إزاء التغيير. ولهذه الأسباب، فقد وضعنا إطار عمل يرتكز على أربعة مجالات هي كالتالي:


  1. ​​توطيد مركزنا الرائد في توريد الغاز الطبيعي المُسال إلى جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال زيادة إنتاجنا إلى 126 مليون طن سنوياً بحلول عام 2027، الأمر الذي سيسهم في ترك مصادر الطاقة ذات الانبعاثات العالية من الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري مثل النفط والفحم.
  2. خفض الانبعاثات الصادرة عن عملياتنا عبر الحد من حرق الغاز وانبعاثات الميثان وتحقيق كفاءة الطاقة.
  3. إنشاء مشاريع للطاقة منخفضة الانبعاثات الكربونية من خلال زيادة قدرات الطاقة المتجددة، مثل مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية، وذلك بمقدار 2-4 جيجاوات بحلول عام 2030.
  4. التعويض عن الانبعاثات المتبقية من خلال التوسع في استخدام تقنيات التقاط الكربون واحتجازه على مستوى مرافقنا (7 إلى 9 مليون طن في العام بحلول عام 2030)​.


طموحاتنا بشأن المناخ 

بدأنا رحلتنا للاستدامة منذ فترة تزيد على عشرة أعوام تخللها عدد من المبادرات، منها حساب انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري والتحقق منها، والحد من حرق الغاز وانبعاثات الميثان وتحقيق كفاءة الطاقة. وقد قطعنا على أنفسنا التزاماً ثابتاً إزاء احتجاز الكربون أيضاً.
وبينما نواصل مسيرتنا نحو التميز، فسنظل ملتزمين بتحقيق المزيد من الازدهار والقيمة المشتركة لكافة أصحاب المصلحة الذين كانوا وسيظلون دائماً جزءاً أصيلاً من النجاح الذي حققناه.


أهدافنا 

تحدد خارطة طريقنا للمناخ طموحات جديدة قصيرة ومتوسطة وطويلة الأجل للحد من انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري وتهيئة محفظتنا لتصبح أكثر استدامة. 
وسيثمر إطار العمل المعني بالمناخ (4C) عن خفض صافي كثافة الانبعاثات الكربونية من عمليات الإنتاج بنسبة 15٪ وحوالي 25٪ من مرافق الغاز الطبيعي المُسال بحلول عام 2030، بما في ذلك الانبعاثات المباشرة وغير المباشرة. وسنحقق طموحاتنا المتمثلة في الوصول بكثافة انبعاثات الميثان إلى نسبة 0.2% بحلول عام 2025 والتخلص من الحرق التقليدي نهائياً بحلول عام 2030. وبحلول عام 2030، سيحتل الغاز ما يزيد على 90٪ من حجم محفظتنا، كما أننا نخطط لإضافة ما يتراوح بين اثنين إلى أربعة جيجاوات من الطاقة المتجددة.